mylowcarb

my experiences of following a low carb diet

Omega 3

on May 18, 2012

Today I have been reading about the benefits of Omega 3 in the diet and how these essential fatty acids are often lacking in our modern diet and we consume too much Omega 6.  Omega-3 fatty acids are a key force against inflammation in our bodies. Mounting evidence shows that inflammation plays a part in many chronic diseases including heart disease, arthritis, asthma, diabetes, and even some cancers. This inflammation is enhanced by having too little Omega-3 intake and too much Omega 6.

The foods to eat to boost the consumption of Omaga 3 are flaxseeds, walnuts and oily fish such as salmon, sardines, herring, tuna and mackerel, – also prawns.

I have already started using walnuts in my baking and I plan to buy some flax seed meal from my Wholefoods shop to add into my recipes.  Fish is more of a problem as even though I live on a island surrounded by the sea, fish bought locally is ether very expensive or if from the local supermarket it is not very fresh and unappetising. I don’t feel like buying tinned tuna either after watching a documentary about how they are being over fished, stocks are being depleted and other sea fish are being damaged by the tuna fishing. 😦

I think I will try to buy locally caught fresh fish once a week and maybe try salmon and prawns occaisonally too.

Other things I discovered today – it is best to use lard, butter or coconut oil for frying and use olive oil as a salad dressing as heating the oil destroys the healthy fats and makes them rancid.

I also found this recipe for Flax Meal Bread which looks really interesting – one to try next week!

Leave a Reply

